Our canopy has spread, but our roots remain firmly where they’ve always been.

CES is recognised as an industry leader offering quality services in the education and not-for-profit sectors across New Zealand. Our mission today remains the same; to provide comprehensive and cost-efficient services to member schools and to the wider education and not-for-profit sectors. CES was formed in 1989 by 33 state secondary schools in Canterbury to succeed the former Christchurch Secondary Schools Council, following its abolition by the 1989 Education Act. Our structure is unique amongst financial service providers because as an incorporated society and a co-operative, all profits are returned to education. CES’s philosophy of supporting schools, trusts and not-for-profit organisations has underpinned their development into leadership in the education trust and not-for-profit services sector. Today, we provide services to over 180 schools and trusts, supplying products in excess of 700.

Our company profile >

Meet our Team

We have a wonderfully talented team here at CES. We value each of our team members and Board of Directors for the expertise they contribute. Our friendly staff and their willingness to go above and beyond is what helps us create the longest business relationships in the industry.

Wayne Jamieson

General Manager CES

Murray Gordon


Stephen Davy

Client Finance Manager

Yasmin Sellars

Client Finance Manager

Carolyn Bentley

Payroll/ Finance Officer

David Appleby

Fund Management/ IT Coordinator

Kurt Barlow

Asset Coordinator

Gail Chamberlain

Finance Officer

Julie MacIntyre

Finance Officer

Kayleigh Chambers

Finance Officer

Lynley Ross

Auckland Regional Manager


Charles Breurkes
Doug Dixon
Geordie Hooft
Adrian Hayes
Susan McAuley
Dr. Robin Williams
Deborah Callahan